For over a year now our church, Kisha Rilindja e Kosoves (Rebirth of Kosova Church), has been linked with a World Challenge project called Please Pass the Bread which provides funding for feeding programmes worldwide. The way we are involved in this is to go and buy food parcels and then distribute them to families in Gjakovë and surrounding villages.The types of food we buy as part of the food parcels are:

IMG_0369

  • Flour
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Pasta
  • Rice
  • Oil
  • Eggs
  • Margarine
  • Biscuits
  • Soup
  • Powdered potato
  • Chicken paste
  • Sausage
  • Beans

In the past we have also bought washing powder, shampoo, soap and washing up liquid but have been encouraged to focus just on food.

Today we distributed food parcels, clothing and school supplies donated by other organisations to 30 families: 12 in Nitic, 11 in Berkoc, 2 in Vranic and 2 in Gjakovë. The remaining 3 parcels will be taken to families in villages further away in the forthcoming week.

The purpose of the project aside from giving food to families who cannot otherwise afford it is to show the love of God in a practical way. If there is an opportunity we also try to pray with families and share the word of God with them but this is not always possible, some families are Muslim or Catholic and are resistant to hear anything different for fear of persecution.

This year we are able to take food parcels to 12 extra families than last year which is a huge blessing and a great opportunity to build relationships with families and communities that are living in difficult circumstances.

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat,
I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink,
I was a stranger and you invited me in,
I needed clothes and you clothed me,
I was sick and you looked after me,
I was in prison and you came to visit me.’”
Matthew 25:35-36

